Vimeiro - Lourinhã, Portugal


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
September 01, 2024 - September 15, 2024 2 weeks

West Coast - the best for surfing in Winter and for sunbathing in Summer + historic places to discover + 1h from Lisbon by highway

Vimeiro's house is in a condominium of 10 houses. It has a private garden and a private barbecue. 

Groundfloor: there is the kitchen, the living room and wc.
1st floor: there are 2 bedrooms and a bathroom.
In the attick with a big window: there is 1 bedroom with bathroom.

One bedroom has a king size bed and another has a king size bed and more 2 single beds.
The 3rd bedroom in the attick has 1 single bed and a sofa double bed.

The house is located in Vimeiro (Lourinhã) contryside, near beaches (10 minutes by car or 20 minutes by bycicle) of Santa Rita, Porto Novo and Santa Cruz.
Horse riding next to Porto Novo beach.

Some videos and photos to you to explore the region:

Visit West of Portugal !
Visit Vimeiro in Lourinhã -
Park adventure for kids - dinosaur park -
Trekking adventures in Vimeiro -
Santa Cruz beach one of several beaches near the house -

Several golf courses in Torres Vedras ( ), Óbidos ( )and Serra del Rei ( ).
In the winter the beaches are perfect for the surf practice (in this video the swell in SuperTubos - Peniche - )
Leiria District -
Lourinhã (5 kms)
Peniche (15 kms) -
Óbidos (30 kms) -
Fátima (70 kms by highway)
Lisboa (75 kms by highway) -
Cascais (80 kms by highway) -

Appreciation note from Elodie Guitton and Pierric Drai - France (FR110417), March 2018:
"Isabel et Joao nous ont accueillis chaleureusement, comme des amis, vraiment sympathiques et aidants. La maison à Vimeiro est chouette et bien située. Nous avons bien profité des visites autour: villes, villages, châteaux, palais, monastères... ( Mafra, Lisbonne, la grotte Saint Antonio, Obidos, Ericeira, Tomar, je dois en oublier plein!!!)"

Appreciation note from Peter & Trine Sørensen - Denmark (DK110333), July 2012:
We have had such a nice and cosy time in your house, Vimeiro and surroundings. You really made us feel very much at home and very wellcome. Thanks for enjoying from your garden - lettuce, salat, onion, tomatoes and cucumbers. Thanks for inviting us for ice creams in Cascais and showing us around in both Vimeiro and Cascais. We have spent a lot of time at the beach - Porto Novo and the beach in Peniche. We have been to Coimbra, Lisboa and Óbidos. Also we have explored Vimeiro surroundings on bikes. We felt very welcome at the small local "supermarket".

Appreciation note from Francisco Cobo Melendo (ES2043), August 2011:
"Muchas gracias por todo. Hemos disfrutado mucho de este Intervac, el tiempo ha estado estupendo y hemos podido ir varios dias a la playa. Hay muchos sitios bonitos cerca de la casa, asi que cada dia planeábamos un viajito. Nos ha gustado mucho Óbidos y las playas!
Hemos comido genial! Sopas, pescados, carnes, estaba siempre todo estupendo."

From the letter of Anne, Ludovic and Co (FR060361), August 2010
We thank you very much for your nice house! We spent there a wonderful time! We hope we'll come another time in a such beautiful country like Portugal. (my comment: thank you for the cake and beautiful draws)

Opinión de nuestros visitantes Aurora y Daniel (ES1509) semana santa. abril 2009:
Gustamos de vuestra compañía en nuestro primer encuentro, y en el ánimo de prorrogar dichos contactos, queremos mantener abierta la puerta de nuestra casa en a coruña, en recíproca actitud, que nos permita volver a vimeiro, a gozar del medio rural, de esa costa acantilada y fuerte, de esas playas con olas encantadoras, de esa tierra ondulada y fértil, de los relajados baños en las piscinas hoteleras y termales, de los paisajes encantadores, de la gastronomía exquisita (pescado salvaje, todos los días) y de la amabilidad de las gentes y de vosotros mismos. hemos conocido ciudades y lugares preciosos: leiria, marinha grande, batalha, nazaré, caldas da rainha, arelho, óbidos, peniche, santarem, lourinhá, praia de santa cruz, torres vedras, ericeira, mafra, etc., y queremos volver a vuestra medida casa, con, justamente, todo lo necesario para hacer posible a dos parejas, gozar de unas hermosas vacaciones: jardín con flores y fresas, barbacoa, y paisaje por fuera, y una deliciosa chimenea (casette) interior, que a diario permite el acondicionamiento de la casa y su entretenida compañía.

¡¡¡queremos volver!!!. y volver a intercambiar si así es vuestro deseo!

Opinion of our visitors Caroline and Hugo Bossan (FR080434) - March 2009:
"Our stay in Portugal has been wonderful, we have seen Batalha (my favorite place), Alcobaça, Óbidos, Peniche, Sintra (twice) and Lisboa of course, and Mafra as well. you are very lucky to live in a so beautifull country! We enjoy walking along the santa rita beach, and saw the next point of view on its left, just before santa cruz beach, and it's amazing how savage it can be. countryside is so peaceful and sweet, it's just a pleasure to take the car and drive along the roads beetween the fields, even if it's not ecologist."

Opinion of our visitors Mike and Mayumi Spenguel (ushi267) - September 2008:
"This weekend home is a good deal nicer than the full time homes of a very large part of the population. it's located in an agricultural area about ten minutes from numerous beautiful beaches and is in a village of about 1,500 people. Everyone I've met in vimeiro has been exceptionally friendly and helpful and a surprisingly large number get along well with english. Local trades people are quite friendly, even if they don't speak another language. Lourinhã is only about ten minutes away for major shopping items."
"The home itself is part of a small condominium complex of ten homes and comprises two stories with two bathrooms, a garage and a garden fully planted with flowers and vegetables. It is seven years old but appears to be of newer vintage. Very nice materials have been used in the construction and furnishing of the home including a beautiful marble stairway and fireplace, and tile floors are used throughout. Mayumi, who is a newshound, was especially pleased with the satellite tv. The furnishings show very nice taste and the decorations are more indicative of a regular home than of a weekend retreat. From the living room/salon there is a nice view over the garden to the hills beyond surmounted by an old windmill."

Opinion of first visitors - Fiona Mainstone (GB039098) - to our house (August 2008):
"your home is lovely and we especially enjoyed sitting in your garden in the early evening.    We had a really wonderful holiday.    
we ate fish  in a different restaurant each day. We didn't do as much sightseeing as we planned because we enjoyed sitting on the beaches and watching the waves much more than we expected: it was most seductive! 
We scrabbled for sardines to barbeque in peniche and enjoyed an ice cream from santinis in cascais.  we visited obidos several times, including a trip to the opera, went to the grutas near fatima and to Fátima itself and to the monastery at Alcobaça.   
we enjoyed the parties in Maceira.  dancing under the moon and stars with fairly lights and bunting is my idea of heaven:  i will think about it during the long winter nights here."     




Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 24 Exchanges made


  • Economist
  • Economist

Our Home

  • House Type: Holiday home, second home
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered


  • Free internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 4


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Naples, Metropolitan City of Naples, Italy
  • Nice, France
  • Valencia, Spain
  • Málaga, Spain
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Antwerp, Belgium
  • Ghent, Belgium
  • Bruges, Belgium
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Berlin, Germany

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Português


  • Economist
  • Economist


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 24 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: