Cardiff, Great Britain

We are currently between houses and therefore are unable to exchange. However, we look forward to being back soon!

We are currently between houses and therefore are unable to exchange. However, we look forward to being back soon!

Cardiff Bay at sunset

Cardiff Bay at sunset


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Family home in Thornhill, a suburb of Cardiff, Great Britain

Me and my husband Stephen are both professionals (Accountant/IT Consultant) with a 8 year old girl and a 5 year old boy. We have now completed 8 swaps between Intervac and another organisation. I am a second generation swapper and grew up with it, my Mum having started exchanging when I was 3.

We are open to exchanges, 2-3 weeks in the UK school Summer holidays and potentially Easter, May or October half terms.

This is our house in the Northern Suburb of Thornhill in Cardiff.  It is in a quiet neighbourhood with plenty of parking.  Lisvane and Thornhill train station is 1km/8minutes walk away with a direct connection to the Centre of Cardiff, and with a change, to the Bay area as well.  Cardiff International Airport (CWL) is 1 change on the train (57mins), and Cardiff Central is on the fast line to London (2h10m).  Train service is good on every day 2+ trains an hour - except a Sunday! Road access is easy from J29, J30 or J32 of the M4 which is far enough away not be troubled with any noise.  There is a nice kids playground just to the south (1km), and large football fields to the West (2km), and a large Sainsbury Supermarket is an easy (1km) walk away.

We are situated just at the foot of Caerphilly 'mountain' and the hills are with (1-2km) for walking with Panoramic Views across the whole of Cardiff and out into the Bay and Bristol Channel.  The recently upgraded Parc Cefn Onn is 8 minutes away walking to the north, with scenic walks, bridle paths and mountain biking trails. There are two golf courses in the vicinity. The Nant Fawr Nature Trail in Coed-y-Felin is just to the South East, looping through a local wood. The Brecon Beacons are then a short drive to the north. The Brecon Beacons National Park has been designated a dark sky reserve, the 5th place in the world to be awarded the status and one of (I think) only 7 in the world. This makes it a premium location for star gazing.

The Beacons and beyond have amazing scenery and driving roads which can be explored in your car or ours depending on agreement on car exchange. Cardiff is a young, dynamic but still small enough to be very welcoming European capital, after under going a first-of-kind damming and redevelopment of the bay, based on the Boston model.

There are many fine Pubs serving excellent food within walking distance, including the historic village of Lisvane and its Black Griffin pub (2km) which has stood for around 400 years. The Ty Mawr (Big house) is 2km away right next to Llanishen golf club,  Maen Llwyd in Rudry (6km), the Cottage (1km) by the Train station also all get our warm recommendation.  Llanishen reservoir is just 2km to the South.

You can see the room layout on the floor plan.  Appliances in the kitchen are: dishwasher, large washing machine and separate dryer, fridge, separate freezer, food processor, and an espresso machine.  There are two large double bedrooms with double beds (one of which can be converted into a twin room) and 2 rooms for the children with small beds. There is TV/DVD etc, and wireless internet – we can also leave a computer set up for internet if this is of help.  There is a large dining table with seating for 4-6.

There is a good size garden with a lawn for kids to play on, a large table with seating for 6, and a large Weber kettle BBQ, firepit and a plentiful supply of wood and charcoal. There is parking for two cars on the drive, and more in the street.
With the good public transport links and road links, this is an ideal staging post for visiting Cardiff and its new Bay developments (theatre, restaurants, watersports etc), Surfing in Porthcawl or Ogmore to the West, the Ryder cup course just to the East in Newport or South Wales in general.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • Chartered Accountant
  • Strategy Consultant

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • USA
  • United Kingdom
  • France
  • Switzerland
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Spain
  • Austria
  • Florida, USA
  • Italy
  • Europe

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch


  • Chartered Accountant
  • Strategy Consultant


  • Girl - Age: 11
  • Boy - Age: 8


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home