Back
CA1012530

Burnaby, Canada

Bronze

Member since

2016


Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
May 01, 2025 - August 31, 2025 1
Share

Cozy Burnaby Home and Whistler Condo

We wish to exchange for 3 or 4 weeks from March to August 2024. We will be traveling as a family of 6: Doug (67), Marie (65), Matt (35), Alana (34), Cam (3) and Nora (1).

We would love for you to be guests in our comfortable home in Burnaby, B.C and/or our condo in Whistler. Burnaby borders Vancouver which offers a wide range of tourist opportunities. Our two story house is a 1950s family home with an enclosed backyard. It is very comfortable for up to 6 people. The main floor has a living room, dining room, kitchen, a four piece bathroom and 2 bedrooms with double beds. The bright basement has a rec room, a bedroom with a double bed, a four piece bathroom, and a laundry room.

You will also have access to our 1 bedroom vacation condo in Whistler. Whistler is a 2 hour drive from our Burnaby home. The condo is located on Alta Lake and is about a 10 minute drive to Whistler Village. It is a 1970’s condo that has 1 bedroom with a double bed bunk as well as a double bed. There are endless summer and winter activities in Whistler for you to enjoy.

Staying at our home and condo would allow you to explore many of the sights that our beautiful province has to offer.

Looking forward to hearing from you,
Marie and Doug

.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Electrician

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

References

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ

Facilities

  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • London, UK
  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: YVR - 15 km

We live in a very quiet, family friendly neighbourhood in Burnaby, which borders Vancouver. It is a 5 minute drive to many of the restaurants and shops at Metrotown Mall. Also, the Royal Oak SkyTrain station, our rapid light rail system, is a comfortable 20 minute walk or 5 minute drive away from our house. This SkyTrain transit system will take you to downtown Vancouver (15 min), and gives you easy access to many other attractions in the Lower Mainland area. Our neighbours are very helpful, and they have done house exchanges before, so they will be great ambassadors.
Our home is very central to many wonderful attractions in B.C. By car, the Trans-Canada Highway is very close, and it is easy to leave the city to enjoy the attractions that B.C. has to offer. North Vancouver is a 30 minute drive on the highway and offers many great outdoor adventures such as Grouse Grind, Lynn Valley Suspension Bridge, Capilano Suspension Bridge, Deep Cove, and Ambleside Beach. Downtown Vancouver is also a 30 minute drive or 15 minute SkyTrain ride from our home and offers many shopping and cultural opportunities such as Chinatown, Gastown, Stanley Park and countless beaches. The USA border is about 40 minutes away, and it is about a 3 hour drive to Seattle, Washington. The Horseshoe Bay and Tsawwassen ferry terminals are both only about a 40 minute drive and offer many more outdoors activities and attractions on the Gulf Islands and Vancouver Island. The Vancouver area also offers many other tourist attractions such as whale watching in Steveston

Translate this

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Electrician

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

We have been married for 35 years and have two adult daughters who no longer live with us, but may be traveling with us. We are excited to make special memories together. I (Marie) teach elementary school in Vancouver, and Doug works as an electrician at Burnaby General Hospital. We have done one house exchange to Belgium. We would be happy to provide more references if required as we have friends who have done house exchanges with Intervac.

Translate this

Lifestyle

We are a very active couple. Doug loves to go to the beach where he plays volleyball, stand up paddle boards, swims and sails. Sometimes, we takes the ferry to Vancouver Island where we spend time bike riding. I (Marie) love to go to the pool and on long walks around town. The Seawall in Stanley Park (10km Seawall Walkway) is one of my favourite paths to visit. As a couple, we enjoy hiking in Whistler during the summer months (our favourites are the Sea to Summit trail or Garabaldi trail) and during the winter, we take full advantage of our condo and frequently go skiing on Whistler Mountain. If you are an active person who loves the outdoors, B.C. is the perfect location for you!

Translate this

References

This member has completed 1 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: