Edinburgh, Great Britain


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
June 01, 2024 - July 18, 2024 2 weeks

2 weeks in June until 18 July. 2 weeks from 17 August until 15 September 2024


Looking for home with private swimming pool in South/South West France or Italy. (No holiday homes).

My husband and I are retired. We have 2 adult children, (teacher and doctor) who may travel with us. We live in Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland. Edinburgh is a wonderful city and has been voted for the past 10 years the best place to live for quality of life in the UK and 4th in the world according to Deutsche Bank Liveability 2019 survey!

In our city, we have several castles, a palace, botanical gardens and many art galleries and museums to visit - most are free to enter! We have many festivals in August including Film/Jazz/International/Fringe and Book Festivals and the famous 'Edinburgh Military Tattoo'. We live very near the sea and you can take boat trips. J K Rowling lives very near our home!

We have a large house with a big garden.  Downstairs, we have a large lounge, dining room and morning room with a piano, violin and guitar.  We also have a kitchen, utility room and w.c.  Upstairs, we have 4 large bedrooms, family bathroom with a jucuzzi and en-suite, both have power showers.

Our garden has 2 patio areas with tables and chairs, we also have an outdoor table tennis.

Our family car is a 2 series BMW Active Tourer 2.18i 5 door petrol.

We are a non-smoking family, therefore do not allow smoking in our home.

Mon mari et moi sommes à la retraite. Nous avons 2 enfants adultes (enseignant et médecin) qui peuvent voyager avec nous. Nous vivons à Edimbourg, la capitale de l'Ecosse. Edimbourg est une ville merveilleuse et a été élue, depuis 10 ans, le meilleur endroit où vivre pour la qualité de la vie au Royaume-Uni et 4ème au monde selon l'enquête Deutsche Bank Liveability 2019!

Une ville merveilleuse avec un chateau, un palais, des jardins botaniques et en plus, il y a beaucoup de musées et galleries d'art a visiter.  Il y a plusieurs festivals en aout comme les festivals du filme, de jazz, de la litérature, de la fringe et le festival international et 'Edinburgh Military Tattoo'. On habite tout pres de la mer et on peut faire des excursions en bateau ou on voit des phoques et on peut voir plusieurs oiseaux. J K Rowling vit très près de notre maison!

Nous avons une grande maison avec un grand jardin, et il y a une cuisine, un piece de piano (ma fille joue le violin et le piano et parfois de la guitarre). Nous avons deux nouvelles salles de bains; il y a une salle de bains avec  un 'jacuzzi'.

Notre jardin dispose de 2 terrasses avec tables et chaises, nous avons également une table de ping-pong en plein air.

Notre voiture familiale est une essence de la série 2 BMW Active Tourer 2.18i à 5 portes.

Nous sommes une famille non-fumeurs, donc ne permettez pas de fumer dans notre maison.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 4 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 26 Exchanges made


  • Retired Chief Inspector of Police
  • Retired

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • France
  • Italy
  • Portugal

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Edinburgh - 7 kms

Quite and friendly neighbourhood with great walks by the river and sea. Near shops and public transport.

Translate this


  • Retired Chief Inspector of Police
  • Retired


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 26 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: