Victoria, Canada

Living Room

Living Room

Living room

Living room






Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
March 01, 2024 - March 01, 2025 3 weeks

We are interested in short or long house exchanges (up to 3 months) especially to Italy.


Tranquil, streamside home north of Victoria, Canada

We live outside of Victoria, on Vancouver Island, on Canada's west coast. Our house is in a semi-rural area. The airport is a 20 minute drive north and the centre of Victoria is a 20 minute drive south from the house. We enjoy a beautiful view of the Olympic mountain range, and the property has a stream, a small orchard and lovely garden. Beaver Lake is a 15 minute walk from the house with a beach for swimming and extensive walking trails. The house has two storeys and can comfortably accommodate four people. It has a full kitchen, all major appliances, a living room, music room, and study. There are three bedrooms and two full bathrooms. There are grocery stores, restaurants, and other shopping and services within one kilometre. We have a Honda Fit, 4 door hatchback, automatic transmission, with a hitch and bike rack.

Victoria is a small city (population 350,000) surrounded by the sea on three sides and has a beautiful harbour. As the capital of British Columbia, there are museums, historic buildings, art galleries, an active arts scene, fine restaurants, and good shopping. Some of the attractions that draw tourists from around the world include: Empress Hotel, British Columbia Parliament buildings, Butchart Gardens, Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria Art Gallery, Beacon Hill Park, Craigdarroch Castle, and Chinatown. 
For more information visit these sites:

Possible day trips from Victoria include Sidney a small seaside town 20 mins away by car, and Saltspring Island, one of the Gulf islands, 30 mins by ferry. Vancouver is 1 hour and 40 mins by ferry. There is lots to see and do and we are happy to recommend our favourites.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 12 Exchanges made


  • Retired doctor
  • Retired graphic designer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Sicily, Italy
  • Iceland
  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Italy
  • Slovenia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Victoria International Airport (YYJ) - 18km

  • shopping Grocery shopping (2.0 km)
  • forest Lake (walking trails) (2.1 km)
  • river Creek by house (0.4 km)
  • beach Swimming (indoor) (1.5 km)
  • lake Lake (swimming) (2.6 km)

Beaver Lake and Elk Lake (15 minute walk from house): From our house you can walk through a neighbour’s field and along a path to Beaver Lake which has a sandy beach and good swimming. A path round both lakes takes 2 hrs to walk and is a very popular spot to run and ride horses. 
Island View Beach (15 minute drive): Our favourite and closest ocean beach, it is quiet and sandy, has lots of driftwood, and is a good place to walk along the shore. 
Rithet’s Bog (5 minute drive): This half hour walk around an area that contains the last peat bog on the peninsula is a great place for water fowl and bird watching.
Mount Douglas Park (10 minute drive): For the best view of the local area, drive or walk to the top of Mount Douglas.  On a clear day you can get a spectacular 360-degree view of the peninsula, Victoria, and the Gulf Islands. 

Sidney (20 minute drive): Sidney is a small seaside town further up the peninsula from Victoria. It is a nice place to walk around, look at shops and bookstores, and visit the Ocean Discovery Centre.

Translate this


  • Retired doctor
  • Retired graphic designer


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 12 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: