Fåberg, Norway


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


House in Lillehammer, Norway

Possible activities:
We are a family of five living in a small place named Fåberg only 7 km from the city of Lillehammer. The children have moved out and have their own familys, but sometimes we go on holyday trips together.
Lillehammer hosted the 1994 winter Olympics, and there are therefore a lot of sites to see. The Olympic arenas are frequently visited by people from all over the world, and you can reach any of them in the span of 15 minutes from our house.
However, there are also a lot of things to do that do not include the Olympic arenas. Just a short stroll away from the Olympic museum there is a park called Maihaugen; here you can see exhibitions about Norwegian history, culture and traditional houses from all eras. In the centre of Lillehammer there also is a museum of the arts. Here you can have a look at many classical Norwegian paintings. Also the main street is one of the most lively in the area, with musicians and different street stalls. There is also a cinema and lots of shops and resturants.
There is also a lot to do for families with young children. In Øyer, about 10 to 15 minutes by car you can visit one of Norway’s most popular family parks, Hunderfossen Family Park. You can read about the park at You can also visit the Norwegian road museum. Here you can look at old cars, learn about tunneling and watch shows on the big stage. On the other side of the river you can visit "Lilleputthammer", a park that basically is a scale model of the main street of Lillehammer. Inside the small houses there are a lot of different things to do for the children. Right next to "Lilleputthammer" will you find "Hafjell Lekeland" which is one of Norway largest indoor playgrounds. There are slides, tunnels, ball pits and more.
If you like to be outdoors you can take the Cable Car from the base station of Hafjell, up to the top of the mountain, where there are several trails that can be used for hiking and cycling alike. Hafjell is the alpine hill from the Olympics. Hafjell is also situated about 15 minutes from our house. There is also plenty of other populare areas for hikes, camping and outdoor life. Some of the most popular spots close by are Nordseter, Sjusjøen, Balbergkampen and the western mountains of Gausdal were our family cabin is situated.
Most people that have visited Norway before believe that it is cold all year around, however that is not true. In the summer bathing is very popular. Here you have several options. First you can visit "Jorekstad Fritidsbad"; here they got swimming pools both inside and outside. With several pools, climbing walls, and slides. All this is only 2,6 km away from our house. You can also take a swim in a small river 2,5 km from our house, or in Norway’s biggest lake, Mjøsa, about 10 km from our house. Or in any of the numerous mountain lakes.
There are many options for different activities in the Lillehammer region. There is something for everybody, and not everything is included above.
Webpages of interest:
Some distances:
Oslo, the capitol of Norway – 2 hours by train, 2h.15min by car
Geiranger, the most scenic fjord in Norway – 3h.39 min
Dovrefjell, only place in Norway with Musk ox’s – 2h.45 min
Bergen – 5h.48 min
Galdhøpiggen, Norway’s highest mountain – 2h.41 min
Nordkapp, the most northern tip of mainland Norway – 1 920,2 km

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 11 Exchanges made


  • Nurse and Engineer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • Belgium
  • Spain
  • France
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • Brasília - Brasilia, Federal District, Brazil
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Switzerland
  • Austria

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Norsk

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Oslo Airport Gardermoen - 150km


  • Nurse and Engineer


  • Boy - Age: 30
  • Girl - Age: 33
  • Girl - Age: 35


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

We are Kari and Magne (parent), daughter Karoline(34),daugther Emilie (32) living together with Vu who have Wilmer (4,5 years) and Eva (2 years),and our son Håkon Andreas (29) living together with Cornelia who have Embla (2years). We all like to travel and have had several trips together. This year we are not sure how many of us that are able to travel together, but maybe only 2-4 persons.

Translate this


This member has completed 11 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: