Merelbeke, Belgium

The beach - is 50minutes drive away

The beach - is 50minutes drive away

Monuments of first world war - 1h driving

Monuments of first world war - 1h driving

Surroundings of our house - flemmish ardennes. Famous for biking

Surroundings of our house - flemmish ardennes. Famous for biking

Ghent by night - 20 min from our house

Ghent by night - 20 min from our house

The flemish hills start from here

The flemish hills start from here


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 04, 2021 - May 01, 2026 1 days

All proposals are welcome. Short/Long, far and nearby.

May 30, 2024 - December 31, 2025 14 days

Alle voorstellen zijn welkom


Looking for an exchange in to New York for the end of August 2024.

Our House is close to Bruges, Ghent, Antwerp and Brussels. All in less then 30minutes!

Looking for a quiet (biking or rest) vacation, or a super enthusiastic city trip holiday while enjoying the belgian food? You can do it all, combine it as you want, but always coming home at our house.

** About us
We are a Belgian family of 5. Two parents and 3 children of 7, 5 and 3 years old. We like to travel. We don't like to be a tourist. That is why we are in to the idea of home exchange. We used to rent rooms in houses from local people and live like them on our holidays. That gets more and more difficult so we take it one step further and want to exchange our house to get to know your world. Please read further what our home can offer you...

** About our house
Our house is a 3 bedroom, recently renovated house with all modern comfort. There are 3 bedrooms, two with two single beds and one Double bedroom. There is one bathroom and the house is fully equipped to welcome children. The garden is 400 m square and has a terrace. It is surrounded by fields and has a fence.
There is a modern, big kitchen and a spacious living room (>34m²) with view on the lands. Relax and enjoy!

  • Smoke, Shoe and Pet free -

** About our village
Merelbeke is a small village, close to Ghent. The high way and a train station (Ghent) are close and easy reachable. From there you can reach every city in Flanders within one hour. Close by, our house is located at the border of the Flemish Ardennes where the multiple Flemmish classic spring tours as 'ronde van Vlaanderen', 'Gent-Wevelgem' etc are held. And in the middle of the 'bunkergordel' (, which are the forts built by the Belgian army after the first world war to protect Ghent.
You can start a lot of biking tours from here or close to our house. If you like to walk in the woods, come home because we live on a walking distance from it. Even though, supermarkets, bakeries etc are only 10 minutes away.

** About Flanders - Belgium
Our house is ideal to visit Flanders Fields and the monuments of World War I.
If you like city-tripping, Ghent ( is only 25 minutes by car or use our bikes to get there. Ghent is a medieval city, even as Brugge which is on 30 minutes by car. (or take the train from the train station on walking distance)
You like to go to big, modern cities, no problem too. Brussels and Antwerp are as far as Brugge thus, only 30 minutes by car. Check it out at
You see it even more big? No problem! Take a train to Paris, Amsterdam, London, it takes only 2 to 3 hours!
Of course you can reach all of the above cities in Belgium by public transportation too!

Oh no, no cities for me. Then go biking or hiking in the neighborhood or take your car or a train to Zeeland (south of the Netherlands - 45 minutes) or The Ardennes (French speaking part of Belgium) and go tripping to Dinant or Namen or Liege in the woods over there (takes maximum 2 hours by car).

And if you finally, after touring around, like to sit back and relax and think the sandbox of the children isn't big enough. Then off you go, right to the sea, which is only 40 minutes...

But always come home to our house!
Stay connected to your friends and relatives through the wireless internet that is accessible anywhere in the house and garden.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 23 Exchanges made


  • engineer
  • engineer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 200 m2
  • Total Area: 600 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Europe
  • Spain
  • Belgium
  • The Netherlands
  • France
  • Italy
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • Germany

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch


  • engineer
  • engineer


  • Boy - Age: 16
  • Boy - Age: 14
  • Girl - Age: 12


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 23 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: