Gent, Belgium

view from the bridge to KOBENHAVN

view from the bridge to KOBENHAVN



Atomium in Brussel

Atomium in Brussel

Gent - Ghent - Gand

Gent - Ghent - Gand

De Schelde in Temse

De Schelde in Temse


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 05, 2024 - August 24, 2024 3 weeks



Ghent, Belgium

Dear home-exchange friends

Our comfortable and spacious appartment offers you on the:
- hall, a toilet, the kitchen and big dining area, the living room.
- 1 big bedroom with a double bed, a second room with smaller double beds, the bathroom with a bathtub, shower and a toilet
- a study-room

Our sunny terrace is a nice place to relax with several tables to enjoy your meal with view on the canal

Gent (Gand -Ghent) is well located and a great place to tour from
– but even a nice place to stay and relax.

Our home is close to several interesting cities:
Lille (France)
Rotterdam and Amsterdam (Netherlands)

In summer there are free many happenings: music, theater, performances, …
Tell us what you are interested in so we can prepare you a wonderful staying here.

Are you fond of cycling ? No problem : use our bikes to discover Flanders (= the Northern and flat part of Belgium).
There are several swimming pools in the neighborhood: open and covered.

Don't doubt about Belgium as a holiday place,
we can promise you a very varied vacation:
whatever you are fond of you can find it nearby !

We wonder if you are interested in holidays in Belgium!

Kind regards,
Elie and Hadewijch
Kopenhagenstraat 4.003
9000 Gent
T +32 474 63 67 62

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 24 Exchanges made


  • retired advisor association medical devices
  • industrial designer (retired professor)

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 170 m2
  • Total Area: 190 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • France
  • Finland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

We live in G(h)ent, a cosy historical city: just outside the centre.
at an hour drive by car or train you find Antwerp(en) (famous Zoo),
Mechelen (Planckendael Zoo and Technopolis; for children interested in technology and experiments)
The large Belgian sand-coast and Northsea.
The Netherlands and France are also very close.

Translate this


  • retired advisor association medical devices
  • industrial designer (retired professor)


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

My husband, Elie, 71 is retired as a teacher in University of Antwerp in industrial design.
He loves singing, cycling, walking nature, working with clay, … home-exchange, his children, grand-children and…me:
Hadewijch, 66 years old, retired, I have been am working as advisor at beMedTech, professional association for manufacturers and dealers for medical devices and technologies; have been active in promoting industrial design 'without age', I love reading - also aloud for children.

We have three children: Maaike (42) our oldest daughter - married with Kristof, lives in Ghent,
Tuur (38) our son, married with Sigrid, has a daugter, Nel (11) and two sons Mo (9) and Bas (7) and lives near Kortrijk.
Our youngest daughter, Siska (34), interior architect, also lives in Ghent with (also named) Kristof, has a daughter Oona (almost 5 and a son Vince, since May 2022.
Elie and me would exchange home and eventually some of the children may come and visit us for some days, maximum 4 adults.

Translate this


We love lots of things, such as:

Translate this


This member has completed 24 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: