Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 08, 2024 - August 11, 2024 2 weeks

We already arranged our swaps during the eastern and the summer holidays.


House in BLANKENBERGE, Belgium

Blankenberge is a very nice coastal town by the North Sea.
The neighbourhood where we live is very quiet.
It is close to the beach, the sea or the city centre.
The house has two floors. We sleep downstairs. There are three bedrooms and a bathroom. Our house is not really suitable for small children.
We have a nice little garden.
We live on the first floor. There we have a big sunnyside terrace too.
You have a parking place in front of the house.
In a few minutes walking you find all the shops, pubs or restaurants. You can visit the large sandy beaches at the beautiful North Sea coast or have a drink in one of the bars on the beach.
Very nice cities like Brugge (15 min), Gent, Antwerp or Brussels are easy to reach. The Dutch border is only a 20 minute drive.
France can be reached within an hour.
We have three adult children, they don't live with us anymore. They all have their own house in Blankenberge or Gent.
We do have a sweet white indoor cat called Flicka, who will need a bit of attention.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 26 Exchanges made


  • We are both teachers. Only Bart is still at work.

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Netherlands
  • Denmark
  • Austria
  • Sweden
  • England, UK

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

In Blankenberge there are lots of leisure activities, fitting a coastal town. We also have two nature reserves surrounding the town.
Blankenberge is a perfect spot to spend days at the beach, as well as a take-off point for lots of trips.
Beautiful Bruges, a Unesco heritage site, can be reached within a quarter of an hour. Gent is 40 km further.
Antwerp and Brussels are just a good hour driving.
Holland is only 20 min away, France an hour.
London, Amsterdam or Paris can be a short trip.

Blankenberge: Happy to 'sea' you!

nature reserve:

Translate this


  • We are both teachers. Only Bart is still at work.


  • We do not have children.


  • Cat

About Our Family

We are living by the seaside at the North Sea coast, and looking for a very nice house exchange.
Mieke is 64. She's a retired teacher.
Bart is 59 and is working as a coordinator in the educational field too.

We have three children.
Bastiaan is 32. He's graduated as a biologist and works in the field of ornithology. He likes travelling round in Europe to see the most beautiful nature reserves and spot birds. He lives in Gent.
Laura is 29. She works and lives in Gent too and loves to visit cities & a nice beach from time to time. She travels often to other continents.
Lotte is our oldest daughter, she is 41 and lives with her man and two lovely daughters in our neighbourhood. She works in Bruges.
They don't travel with us.
It will only be the two of us.

Translate this


This member has completed 26 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: