Bruges, Belgium

sunny garden

sunny garden

Welcome in our house !

Welcome in our house !

the coast

the coast


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
April 15, 2024 - April 30, 2025 2 weeks

less than 500 km 1 week, we are flexible


Discover how it feels to live in a very quiet family home in a green environment near a cultural city and close to the coast.

Our house is situated 10 min driving to the touristic centre of Bruges, a Unesco World Heritage city : . Very easy and practical with the bike (6km). Loppem have two good supermarkets, good foodshops and good places to eat. It is a green village with a nice park and famous castle. And so near to Bruges.
During the winter you have a lot of winter attractions, shopping facilities and a famous Christmas market. During the summer there are a lot of music festivals, open air activities, exhibitions…..
 Bruges is one of the popular touristic places to visit in Europe, with its interesting museums, romantic canals, historical buildings and many more.  The city has a great range of restaurants, bars, cafés, chocolate- and beershops, cinema, concerthalls, etc..
By train or car you can visit other interesting and historical cities such as Antwerp, Ghent, Brussels, Leuven.
Hiking and cycling is very popular here, there are many easy and flat cycling trails, some go even across the border with Holland (Sluis). We have 4 citybikes available.
Bruges is also close to the coastal cities at the Northsea that offer kite- and windsurfing, beachsailing, golf, casino's, fishing- and sailingports. Along the coastline you can take the tram from the French border (De Panne) to the Dutch border (Knokke).
 Other well-known destinations and cities like Paris, London, Amsterdam, Keulen (Köln) are easy reachable by fast trains : Eurostar, TGV, Thalys, Fyra. (No parking and traffic problems)
Our national airport is Brussels Airport approx. 1h10 by train from Brugge and a regional airport is Brussels South (Charleroi) or Ostend is just a half an hour ( flights from spain in summertime)
From our house, you have a very good acces to motorways for daytrips to the Belgian countryside. (;; the websites have an english , french and deutsch version)
An information map will be available in our house for you. It contents all the tourist information of a lot of cities, travelpossibilities, walking and biking tours in and around Bruges etc...You can also use our PC to search recent info on internet.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 25 Exchanges made


  • retired general practitioner
  • retired Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Suitable for disabled people

Our Destination Wish List

  • Austria
  • Switzerland
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • Italy

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Brussels airport - one hour train

Loppem is a little green village very close to Bruges (6km) with all facilities to shop ( two supermarkets, a few good restaurants)

Translate this


  • retired general practitioner
  • retired Teacher


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home


This member has completed 25 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: