Paradis, Norway

Fantoft stave church - 100 m from our house

Fantoft stave church - 100 m from our house

The Hanseatic harbour in Bergen

The Hanseatic harbour in Bergen

View from mount Fløyen in Bergen

View from mount Fløyen in Bergen


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
October 09, 2022 - October 16, 2022 1 weeks

Autumn holidays - would love to go somewhere warm :)

Family house in Paradis, Bergen


Family house in Bergen, Norway’s second largest town and “gateway to the fjords”.

We are a family of four, mom (engineer), dad (philosopher and teacher) and two children (9 and 11) looking for a house exchange for the summer '22. After two years with restrictions due to the pandemics, we really are looking forward to travelling again!

Our house is a modernistic house from the '60s, and we are renovating little by little, while trying to keep the original qualities. The area where we live is famous for many villas by early 20th century modern architects, and the area is actually called Paradis. The house is situated 400 m from the city light rail that will take you to Bergen centre or the airport in 20 minutes, and directly by a bus stop. The nearest centre is 5 min by light rail (or 9 min by bike) away.

Within walking distance, we have several good grocery stores and a local café. A kindergarten playground is two houses away, a magical forest with a genuine stave church (sic!) is 50 m from the house ( and the kings castle with bathing possibilities by the fjord is only 7 min by bike.

The house is equipped for a family with small children, with toys, bikes, chairs, etc. We have a lovely, smallish garden with direct access from the terrace and living room, a trampoline and a climbing "forest" of rhododendrons.

On the ground floor you’ll find the hall, a small toilet room, a fully equipped kitchen, dining room (easily seats 8) and living room. We have an open solution, and from the dining room you also have direct access to the terrace and garden. There’s also a laundry room and pantry. On the first floor you’ll find 4 bedrooms, and a bathroom with bath tub, shower, double washbasin and WC.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Dad (45): Philosopher and school teacher
  • Mom (45): Engineer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 190 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 5


  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Denmark
  • United Kingdom
  • Portugal
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Reykjavík, Iceland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Dansk
  • Norsk
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Bergen Airport (Flesland) - 11 km

  • mountains Landåsfjellet (hiking trail) (1.7 km)
  • lake Nubbevatnet lake (3.2 km)
  • beach Kyrkjetangen (2.0 km)
  • sea Gamlehaugen (1.1 km)
  • forest Fantoft forest (0.2 km)
  • shopping Grocery (0.6 km)

Bergen is an old and beautiful city by the west coast of Norway, with Hanseatic buildings by the harbour on the World heritage list, and a urban yet charming centre. Bergen is a lively and cultural town, and was the home of composer Edvard Grieg. It is also a great starting point if you want to explore more of Norway.

In 2020 Bergen was celebrating its 950th anniversary. See glimpses of our city in this music video made for the celebration:

Direct flights to many cities in Europe:

Attractions & activites:
Public swimming pool "Ado arena" (
Outdoors climbing park "Høyt&Lavt" (
Bergen Aquarium (
Sience sentre for kids "VilVite" (
Mount Fløyen (
Mount Ulriken (
"Kode" - art museums and composer homes (


  • Dad (45): Philosopher and school teacher
  • Mom (45): Engineer


  • Girl - Age: 12
  • Boy - Age: 9


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home