Back
GB475378

Glasgow, Great Britain

Ready to go

Member since

2007


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 11, 2022 - July 31, 2022 20 days
August 04, 2022 - August 11, 2022 7 days

Double upper tenement flat (5 bedrooms) in Glasgow, Great Britain

Our home is in Dennistoun, Glasgow, Scotland. It is a flat in a tenement building which was built roughly around 1875. The flat is quite big (about 175 sq m) and has two floors, 5 bedrooms, a study, a kitchen, a living room and 2 bathrooms/shower rooms. There are two televisions and wi-fi too. It has a shared garden at the back, and we are only 6 neighbours in the close. Dennistoun is a very central area. In a 15 minute walk you can go to Merchant City and in 25 minutes you are in Glasgow city centre. Something to visit in Glasgow is the Necropolis, which is very close to Dennistoun. The area has many cafes, restaurants, bars, parking is free, and you can also go to town via buses or train. Glasgow was at some point the second city of the Empire, and although most visitors are very keen to visit Edinburgh, Glasgow is equally nice and it has many museums and amazing things to do.... and as the logo says.. People make Glasgow! Edinburgh is only 45 minutes away by train anyway, so potentially, the flat is very well situated if you would like to go to the Edinburgh Fringe in August.

In 5 minutes, taking the train at Bellgrove ( our local train station) , you can be at Glasgow Queen Street- one of the main stations in Glasgow. In a 45 minute train journey you can be in Edinburgh if you go east, but if you continue west you can be in Troon beach in 40 minutes. If you go north you are in Loch Lomond in only a 30 minute drive. There are big parks near us, such as Alexander Park or Glasgow Green.
We are a family of 5, two dads and three children, and you can use our bikes.
I have done only one house swap when I was younger... but we are keen now to start doing more house swaps as a family.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Physiotherapist
  • University Lecturer

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 175 m2
  • Total Area: 175 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Guitar

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 5

Facilities

  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Cádiz, Spain
  • Paris, France
  • Catalonia, Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Glasgow Aiport - 9 miles

Dennistoun was named the eight coolest neighbourhood in the world a few years ago. It is situated in the East End of Glasgow, within walking distance of Glasgow city centre and vibrant Merchant City; it sits just behind the Glasgow Cathedral and Glasgow Necropolis (where the rich merchants of the Empire were buried). Glasgow used to be the second city of the British Empire and many buildings reflect this.

https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/18773133.dennistoun-named-one-worlds-coolest-neighbourhoods/

There is a very interesting BBC documentary ' The Secret History of Our Streets' that gives a historic perspective of Glasgow and this area and how things have changed over the years. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez3Ud-ijGkY
It is one hour long so it maybe too long, but it is really interesting. In minute 23 in the video, you can learn about the 'dividing line' into the land of James Dennistoun where there were no diseases.. and his 'grand' plan for the area which is now known as The Drives, where our flat is.

These days Dennistoun has many cafes and restaurants, but otherwise, in 7 minutes by train, or 20 minute walk, you can be in the City Centre. For those looking to go to Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival, you can be in Edinburgh in 40 minutes by train.

Occupation

  • Physiotherapist
  • University Lecturer

Children

  • Boy - Age: 3
  • Boy - Age: 6
  • Girl - Age: 8

Pets

  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home