Back
CA1014637

Vernon, Canada

Bronze

Member since

2017


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
May 27, 2024 - November 30, 2024 1 months

Open to offers. Very flexible.

Share

Family home in BC's Okanagan Valley

We are a 30-minute drive, 38kms, from Kelowna Airport (YLW), or 5.5 hours, 450kms, from Vancouver Airport (YVR). Vernon is at the north end of the Okanagan Valley, which extends south through a series of lakes & rivers to north-central Washington State. It's generally warm and sunny in the summer, known for various fruit crops, vineyards & wineries. There are several attractive beaches on Okanagan & Kalamalka Lakes within 5 to 20 minutes of our home; 6 golf courses within 30 minutes; plus Silver Star Mountain Resort for winter skiing or summer hiking and biking is 35 minutes away. Our home is level entry with walkout basement -- spacious & well-equipped for up to 3 couples or a family with children -- main level primary bedroom with King bed & 5-piece ensuite, plus an office with single cot, & full bathroom; lower level has 2 bedrooms with Queen beds, & another full bathroom down. Small TV in family room up + home theatre down. Seating for up to 8 people on the covered deck, with gas grill, & lovely 200-degree easterly view overlooking a golf course. 300Mbps WiFi, basic cable channels, Netflix & Prime. Small fenced rear yard suitable for dogs who won't jump more than 1 meter!

We have two reliable low-mileage vehicles: a 2015 Honda Odyssey Touring 8-passenger van, plus a 5-passenger 2012 Buick Verano. Neither is suitable for "off-road" use.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Retired real estate appraiser and retired teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: beds for 3 up + 4 down
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Living Area: 267 m2
  • Total Area: 311 m2

References

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar

Outdoor

  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • Non-smoking house
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Kelowna (YLW) BC - 38 km

We live in a semi-rural area, in a secluded subdivision of 62 homes, just a handful of minutes drive from our downtown. Most residents in our immediate area are active retirees, but we also have a few younger residents with children. Vernon has a trading area population of about 80,000. Kelowna, with a trading area population of about 220,000, is just 50 minutes south.

Translate this

Occupation

  • Retired real estate appraiser and retired teacher

Children

  • Girl - Age: 32
  • Boy - Age: 35

Pets

  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

We are a retired couple who have travelled extensively throughout our lives, both together and separately. We have two adult children who are successfully launched. Our son lives in Kelowna & our daughter in Vancouver.

Translate this

Lifestyle

Spring in the Okanagan: hiking boots, bikes, kayaks, tennis racquets & golf clubs are popular. We are a short bike ride from the https://okanaganrailtrail.ca/ Summer: bathing suits & water toys are added. Fall: best time for wine tours & maybe a road trip. Winter: excellent downhill & Xcountry ski facilities are a 40-minute drive away at https://www.skisilverstar.com/ & https://www.sovereignlake.com/ Some folks prefer snowshoes or a snowmobile.

Our most recent trip was 5 weeks (Feb/Mar 2024) in New Zealand.

Translate this

References

This member has completed 2 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: