Sant Carles de la Ràpita, Spain

The sea promenade - Five minutes from the apartment

The sea promenade - Five minutes from the apartment

The beach 5 minutes from the flat.

The beach 5 minutes from the flat.

Flamingos just 15 minutes away

Flamingos just 15 minutes away

Flamingos in a rice field next to a cycling lane

Flamingos in a rice field next to a cycling lane

El Fangar lighthouse

El Fangar lighthouse

La Foradada - 90-minute hike from parking which is 3 km from Sant Carles de la Ràpita

La Foradada - 90-minute hike from parking which is 3 km from Sant Carles de la Ràpita


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 30, 2024 - August 20, 2024 2 weeks

Looking for a summer exchange in Great Britain, Switzerland, Germany, Austria or France (Brittany or Alps). Denmark, Sweden and Norway would also be nice.


Beach flat in San Carlos de la Rápita (Ebro Delta)

Our flat is in the heart of the Ebro Delta, just 5 minutes from the beach. It’s on the first floor of a quiet building. It has got two single-bed bedrooms and a double-bed one, two bathrooms, a spacious kitchen and a dining-room. There’s also a patio where children can play and clothes can be hung to dry. The building has got two elevators which you'll probably never use, as you only need to climb 15 steps to get to the flat.

Apart from the typical appliances like a washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, and air conditioning you can enjoy a fast internet connection, TV set connected to a computer and to an Android TV device, board games, toys for children and a selection of books, magazines and brochures.

You can find a supermarket, a bakery and a greengrocer’s just in front. The supermarket is open all week, Sundays included from June to September. There’s a bar on the ground floor which offers affordable tapas and meals. It’s a quiet bar which closes in the evening, so it’s not noisy at night. Along the sea promenade there are many tapas bars, ice cream shops, a wide variety of restaurants and an area of cocktail clubs.

In the town you can enjoy many beaches, from wide and long ones to small and quiet coves. All of them are equipped with showers and toilets and two of them have lifeguard services.

There’s a natural coastal path which is great for short treks and direct access to all the Ebro Delta, where you can cycle while enjoying the immense variety of wildlife and wonderful views of the ricefields, lagoons, flamingos and the Ebro river. The zone was declared a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO, thanks to its landscape richness, the representativeness of its Mediterranean ecosystems and its model of biodiversity conservation.

Trekking in the mountains is also possible, as the Montsià mountain range is accessible by bike from the town and the higher Els Ports range is just a 30-minute drive. Wine enthusiasts can visit the Terra Alta and Priorat areas, just 45 minutes away. If you love cities, you can take a bus to Valencia or Barcelona from the bus stop across the street. If you go by car, it’s a two-hour drive.


Newspaper feature on El País:

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • Profesor de inglés

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 85 m2
  • Total Area: 99 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Terrace or deck
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Suitable for disabled people

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Tyrol, Austria
  • Munich, Germany
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • London, UK
  • Switzerland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Reus - 75 km

Quiet neighbourhood in a fishing and agricultural village.
In the heart of the Ebro Delta, one of the best travel discoveries as stated by The Guardian:

Translate this


  • Profesor de inglés


  • Boy - Age: 14
  • Girl - Age: 11


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

We are a four-member family. Fernando is a 47-year-old English language teacher. Marta is 45 and teaches German and English. Both of us teach languages to adult people (16-99). Víctor is 13 and Lídia is 10. We speak Catalan, Spanish, French, German and English.

We work at a state-run language school for adults. In our free time we like reading, walking and cycling.

We have welcomed Intervac guests for 10 years. They were European people who exchanged houses with a friend of us. While our friends were on holiday, we showed their exchange families around the region and shared meals with them.

Now, we have completed four exchanges successfully with partners from Spain and from the rest of Europe.

We have prepared a blog showing our flat, town and the surrounding area (Delta del Ebro), it's

Translate this


We try to lead an active and healthy social and family life. We attend local events at weekends and practise sport regularly. We like going for long walks and sometimes we also go cycling.

Translate this


This member has completed 4 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: